The needler in the haystack.

Saturday, March 29, 2014

PSO features Saint Saën's organ symphony tonight

Tonight's concert will feature Saint Saens'
Organ Symphony.

Tonight's Plainfield Symphony Orchestra concert will feature Saint Saën's 'Organ Symphony' and a Mozart piano concerto with Claudia Hu as soloist.

The symphony, commissioned by London's Royal Philharmonic and premiered in 1886 with the composer as conductor will tonight feature Crescent Avenue's retired organist Ron Thayer at the Gilbert Adams organ.

Though referred to as the 'Organ Symphony', it is really a symphony that features the organ in two of its movements, but is also known for flashy piano writing as well -- including solo playing and piano four hands.

Which is where the evening's other featured solosit comes in. Clauda Hu, 2013 Silver Medal winner of the NJ Young Artists Competition, will play in the Saint Saëns piece as well as being the soloist in Mozart's Piano Concerto in A Minor.

The evening will be rounded off with Ravel's Valses Nobles et Sentimentales, all under the baton of Charles Prince, the Plainfield Symphony Orchestra's conductor.

The performance gets under way at 7:00 PM sharp at Crescent Avenue Presbyterian Church, Watchung Avenue at East 7th Street. Tickets are $30 at the door, $20 for seniors and students. Parking available the in church lot, on street, or in the Swain Galleries lot.

  -- Dan Damon [follow]

View today's CLIPS here. Not getting your own CLIPS email daily? Click here to subscribe.